That Time Of Year

I am not a person that greatly cares for the cold weather, but as it starts to creep into Southwest Missouri I must confess to myself that fall/winter has officially stated to make its home here for a while. The only thing I absolutely love about fall and winter is all the babies being born. I always look forward to the next calf. That anxious feeling not knowing if you are going to get a bull or heifer… this year I was surprised by a tiny little heifer calf. Although, do not let the tiny part full you, she is catching up to the calves that were born weeks ahead of her. I love watching them grow and showing him the following summer. It is such an amazing experience! When we are done have calves, we move right on into kidding season. Although the goats do require more care than the cows, your heart cannot help but melt once you have seen their little faces. I always enjoy watching the kids grow up and even though I cannot keep them all, it is a great feeling to help out 4-H and FFA members with their projects and watching them win with stock I produced. Even though I have had to decrease my herds due to college and not having time for large herds, it still keeps me busy. So for all those people out there like me, just try to keep focused on the bright and enjoyable times about this part of the year and before we know it the sun will be out and shinning and it will be WARM!Croped

Categories: My Country Life | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

